After July 2021, the 2.3.x release line will no longer receive quality fixes, or user guide updates. PHP 7.3 reaches end of support in December 2021 and Adobe Commerce 2.3.x reaches end of support in April 2022. We strongly recommend planning your upgrade now to Adobe Commerce 2.4.x and PHP 7.4.x to help maintain PCI compliance.

Modifying a Category

After a category is established, it can be edited, moved to another position in the category tree, or deleted from the catalog. If your catalog is live, first consider how the change might impact any existing links to products in the category. For example, if your product URLs include the category path, and the category name is changed, any existing links to products in the category will be broken. To avoid this problem, you can configure your catalog to automatically create a permanent redirect if the URL key changes. You can also use the URL Rewrite tool to redirect traffic from an old URL to a new one.

Move a category

  1. On the Admin sidebar, go to Catalog > Categories.

  2. To move a category, drag-and-drop the category to a new position in the tree.

    Changes to the category structure are saved automatically.

Delete a category

  1. In the category tree, select the category that you want to delete.

    A deleted category cannot be restored, so make sure that you have selected the correct category before proceeding.

  2. Click Delete Category.

  3. When prompted to confirm, click OK.