Before a shipment is dispatched to a carrier, it can be canceled by opening the order and navigating to the shipment, provided the carrier supports cancellations. Some carriers restrict or limit cancellations after a booking. For example, UPS allows cancellations, but requires that you wait 24 hours after the shipment is booked. If a shipment is canceled, the cancellation cannot be reversed. The only recourse is to recreate the order.
To cancel a shipment:
On the Admin menu, choose Sales.
Find the order in the grid.
In the Action column, choose View.
In the panel on the left, choose Shipments.
If the shipment can be canceled, Cancel Shipment appears in the button bar.
Click Cancel Shipment.
When prompted to confirm, click OK.
The status of the shipment changes to
Canceled. If the carrier does not support cancellations, an error message appears that explains why the shipment could not be canceled.