B2B for Adobe Commerce only. Learn more.

Company Users

The individuals who are associated with a company are represented in the Customers grid by the customer type, Company User, and are typically buyers with varying levels of permission to access store services and resources.

Company Structure with Teams of Users

Company users are assigned by the company administrator, and are visible from the Admin in the Customers grid. For each user, the company administrator first sets up the company structure, and then completes the following tasks, as needed:

  • Create company users and assign users to teams

  • Define roles and permissions, and assign users to roles

Company users can be added, edited, or removed only by the company administrator. Removal cannot be reversed because the user is removed from the company structure.

Add company users

  1. From the storefront, the company administrator signs in to their account.

  2. In the left panel, chooses Company Users.

    Company Users

  3. Clicks Add New User and does the following:

    • Enters the Job Title of the new user.

    • If the roles and permissions are defined, chooses the appropriate User Role. Otherwise, they can return later to assign the role.

      Add new user

    • Completes the remaining fields as needed for the user:

      • First Name and Last Name
      • Email
      • Phone Number

    By default, the Status of the account is Active.

  4. When complete, clicks Save.

  5. Repeats the process to create as many company users as needed.

    The new users appear in the Company Users list, along with the Company Administrator.

To save time during their first order, the company administrator can remind each company user to add the default company billing and shipping address to their address book.

List of Company Users

Edit company users

  1. From the storefront, the company administrator signs in to their account.

  2. In the left panel, chooses Company Users.

  3. Finds the user record to be updated, and clicks Edit.

  4. Makes the needed changes.

  5. When complete, clicks Save.

Remove a company user

  1. From the storefront, the company administrator signs in to their account.

  2. In the left panel, chooses Company Structure.

  3. Selects the company user in the company structure.

  4. Clicks Delete Selected.

    Delete User

  5. When prompted to confirm, clicks Delete.

In the Admin, the company user continues to be listed in the Customers grid, but with an Inactive status.

Field descriptions

Field Description
Job Title The job title of the company user.
User Role The role assigned to the company user. Options: Default User / (other roles)
First Name The first name of the company user.
Last Name The last name of the company user.
Email The email address of the company user.
Phone Number The phone number of the company user.
Status The status of the company user account. Options: Active / Inactive