Configuring a Persistent Cart

During the setup of a persistent shopping cart, you can specify the lifetime of the cookies, and which options you want to make available for various customer activities.

If the session cookie expires while the customer is logged in, the persistent cookie remains active.

To configure a persistent cart

  1. On the Admin sidebar, click Stores.

  2. In the Settings section, choose Configuration.

  3. In the Customers section on the left panel, choose Persistent Shopping Cart.

    If necessary, expand the General Options section.

  4. To enable the persistent shopping cart and display additional options, set Enable Persistence to Yes.

    General Options

  5. Configure the persistent cart settings:

    1. In the Persistence Lifetime (seconds) field, enter the length of time, in seconds, that you want the persistent cookie to last.

      The default value of 31,536,000 seconds is equal to one year, and is the maximum time allowed.

    2. Set Enable “Remember Me” to one of the following:

      • Yes–Displays the Remember Me checkbox on the Login page of your store, so that customers can choose to save their shopping cart information.

      • No–Persistence can still be enabled, but customers are not given the option to choose if they want to save their information.

    3. To preselect the Remember Me checkbox, set Remember Me Default Value to Yes.

    4. Set Clear Persistence on Log Out to one of the following:

      • Yes–The shopping cart is cleared when a registered customer logs out.
      • No–The shopping cart is saved when a registered customer logs out.

      If the session cookie expires while the customer is still logged in, the persistent cookie remains in use.

    5. Set Persist Shopping Cart to one of the following:

      • Yes–If the session cookie expires, the persistent cookie is preserved. If a guest shopper later logs in or creates a new account, the shopping cart is restored.

      • No–The shopping cart is not preserved for guests after the session cookie expires.

    6. Click Save Config.