Customer Groups

Customer groups determine which discounts are available, and the tax class that is associated with the group. The default customer groups are General, Not Logged In, and Wholesale.

The selection of customer groups includes all regular customer groups, and shared catalogs, even if Shared Catalogs is not enabled in the configuration. Only one customer group or shared catalog can be assigned to a company at a time.

Customer Groups

To filter customer groups:

  1. On the Admin sidebar, tap Customers. Then choose Customer Groups.

  2. Tap  Filters .

  3. Enter criteria for searching groups, including a range of IDs, group, or tax class.

    Filtering Options

  4. When complete, tap  Apply Filters. The subset of filtered customer groups and members displays.

To create a customer group:

  1. On the Admin sidebar, tap Customers. Then, choose Customer Groups.

  2. Tap  Add New Customer Group .

    • Enter a unique Group Name less than 32 characters to identify the group.
    • Select the Tax Class that applies to the group.

    Group Information

  3. When complete, tap  Save Customer Group .

To edit a customer group:

  1. On the Admin sidebar, tap Customers. Then choose Customer Groups.

  2. Open the record in edit mode.

  3. Make the necessary changes.

  4. When complete, tap  Save Customer Group .

To assign a customer to a different group:

  1. On the Admin sidebar, tap Customers. Then, choose All Customers.

  2. Find the customer in the list, and mark the checkbox in the first column.

    • Set the Actions control to “Assign a Customer Group.
    • Set the Group control to the new group.
    • When prompted to confirm, tap  OK .

      Assign a Customer Group

To delete a customer group

A customer group that is associated with a shared catalog cannot be deleted.

  1. On the Admin sidebar, tap Customers. Then choose Customer Groups.

  2. Open the record in edit mode.

  3. In the button bar, tap Delete Customer Group.

  4. When prompted to confirm, tap OK.

  5. When complete, tap  Save Customer Group .