Changing the Company Assignment

If allowed in the configuration, the company admin adds users to the company. However, the company assignment of a customer profile can also be made, or changed from the Admin.

If an individual already has a personal account with the store, and later goes to work for a company, do not assign the person’s individual account to the company. Rather, create a new company user account for the person, with a company email address.

To assign a customer to a company:

  1. On the Admin sidebar, tap Customers. Then, choose All Customers.

  2. Find the customer in the grid. Then in the Action column, click Edit.

  3. In the panel on the left, choose Account Information. Then, do the following:

    • Click the Associate to Company field. Then in the input box, type the first few letters of the company name.

      The system generates a list of all possible matches. Associate to Company

    • In the list, select the company to which the customer is to be assigned. Then, tap Done.

    • If the customer was previously assigned to a different company, tap Confirm.

      The customer is reassigned to the customer group — or shared catalog — of the company, and the customer is added to its company structure.

  4. When complete, tap Save Customer.

    The following columns are updated in the Customers grid:

    • The Group column changes to the name of the customer group — or shared catalog — that is assigned to the company.
    • The Company column displays the name of the company to which the customer profile is now associated.