Magento Open Source, 1.9.x

Magento 1.x Security Patch Notice
For Magento Open Source 1.5 to 1.9, Magento is providing software security patches through June 2020 to ensure those sites remain secure and compliant. Visit our information page for more details about our software maintenance policy and other considerations for your business.

Billing Agreements

The Billing Agreement functionality enables customers to sign an agreement with the payment system and eases the process of checkout because customers do not need to specify payment information again and again. During the shopping cart checkout, the customer can simply choose a billing agreement as a payment method and based on its number; the payment system will charge the customer's account. The store administrator can manage customer’s billing agreements from both the Customer and Sales sections of the Admin menu.

Sales Management

The list of all billing agreements for all customers is available under Sales > Billing Agreements. Here, the store administrator can filter the records by the customer or billing agreement information including billing agreement reference ID, status, and creation date. A specific record provides general information about the selected billing agreement and about all sales orders that relate to it. The store administrator can view, cancel, or delete a customer’s billing agreements in the Sales Management area. Billing agreements can be canceled or deleted by clicking the corresponding buttons located in the upper right part of the Billing Agreement page. An already canceled billing agreement can only be deleted by the store administrator.

Customer Management

Billing agreements created by a single customer can be seen on the Billing Agreements tab of the customer account page in the Admin (Customers > Manage Customers). From here, the store administrator can open a required billing agreement to view its general information and sales orders relating to it, cancel a billing agreement, or delete it.

To enable billing agreements:

1. On the Admin menu, select System > Configuration.
2. In the panel on the left, under Sales, select Payment Methods.
3. Click the Configure button for one of the following PayPal solutions:
  • PayPal Express Checkout
  • PayPal Payments Advanced (includes Express Checkout)
  • PayPal Payments Pro (includes Express Checkout)
4. Scroll down to the PayPal Billing Agreement Settings section, and do the following:

PayPal Billing Agreement Settings
a. Set Enabled to “Yes.”
a. Enter a Title to identify the PayPal Billing Agreement method during checkout.
b. If you offer multiple payment methods, enter a number in the Sort Order field to determine the sequence in which Billing Agreement appears when listed with other payment methods during checkout.
c. Set Payment Action to one of the following:
  • Authorization Approves the purchase, but puts a hold on the funds. The amount is not withdrawn until it is “captured” by the merchant.
    Sale The amount of the purchase is authorized and immediately withdrawn from the customer’s account.
d. Set Payment Applicable From to one of the following:
  • All Allowed Countries

    Accepts payment from the countries already specified in your configuration.

    Specific Countries

    Accepts payments from only the countries you specify. Hold the Ctrl key down and in the Payment Applicable From list, click each country where you accept payment.

e. To record communications with the payment system in the log file, set Debug Mode to “Yes.”

The log file is stored on the server and is accessible only to developers. In accordance with PCI Data Security Standards, credit card information is not recorded in the log file.

f. To enable SSL verification, set Enable SSL verification to “Yes.”
g. To display a summary of each line item in the customer’s order on your PayPal payments page, set Transfer Cart Line Items to “Yes.”
h. To allow customers to initiate a billing agreement from the dashboard of their customer account, set Allow in Billing Agreement Wizard to “Yes.”
5. When complete, click the Save Config button.