Magento Community Edition, 1.9.x
Persistent Cart Workflow

When Persistent Shopping Cart is enabled, the workflow depends on the values of the “Enable Remember Me” and “Clear Persistence on Log Out” settings, the customer’s decision to select or clear the “Remember Me” checkbox, and when the persistent cookie is cleared.

When a persistent cookie is applied, a Not %Jane Smith%? link appears in the page header, to give the customer the ability to terminate the persistent session and start working as a guest, or log in as a different customer. The system retains a record of the shopping cart contents, even if the customer later uses different devices to shop in your store. For example, a customer can add an item to the shopping cart from a laptop, edit the cart contents from a desktop computer, add more items from a mobile device, and complete the checkout process from a tablet.

There is a separate independent persistent cookie for each browser. If the customer uses multiple browsers while visiting your store during a single, persistent session, any changes made in one browser will be reflected in any other browser when the page is refreshed. While the persistent shopping cart is enabled, your store creates and maintains a separate persistent cookie for each browser that is used by a customer to log in or create an account.

  • Leaving an Open Session on a Shared Computer

    Jane is finishing up her holiday shopping with a persistent session, and adds a present for John to her cart, as well as something for her mother. Then she goes to the kitchen for some milk and cookies.

    John sits down at the computer to do some quick shopping while Jane’s in the kitchen. Without noticing the “Not %Jane%” link at the top of the page, he finds a nice present for Jane and adds it to the cart. When he goes to checkout and logs in as himself, both the items in Jane’s cart are added to his cart. John’s in such a hurry that he doesn’t notice the additional item during Order Review, and submits the order. Jane’s cart is now empty, and John bought presents for both Jane and her mother.

    Jane brings John some milk and cookies, and asks, “What’s up?” He says, “Oh, nothing.”

Persistent Cart Settings and Effects

  • Settings

    Effect

    Enable Remember Me = “No”

    Clear Persistence on Log Out = any value

    The Remember Me checkbox is not available on the login and registration page. The persistent cookie is not used.

    Enable Remember Me = “Yes”

    Clear Persistence on Log Out = any value

    Remember Me (not selected)

    The session cookie is applied as usual; the persistent cookie is not used.

    Enable Remember Me = “Yes”

    Clear Persistence on Log Out = “Yes”

    Remember Me = “Yes”

    When a customer logs in, both cookies are applied. When a customer logs out, both cookies are deleted. If a customer does not log in, but the session cookie expires, the persistent cookie is still used. Apart from logging out, the persistent cookie is deleted when its lifetime runs out or when the customer clicks the Not %Jane Smith% link.

    Enable Remember Me = “Yes”

    Clear Persistence on Log Out = “No”

    Remember Me = “Yes”

    When a customer logs in, both cookies are applied. When a customer logs out, the session cookie is deleted, the persistent session continues. The persistent cookie is deleted when its lifetime runs out or when the customer clicks the Not %Jane Smith% link.